ABOUT

Friends of Jones is a membership organization of school parents, family, and friends who support education and community building at Jones College Prep. The Friends of Jones Board of Directors is responsible for raising funds, organizing events, coordinating volunteers, establishing our alumni network and so much more, all to ensure the future of JCP as the premier college preparatory school in the city and the state.

EVERYONE'S WELCOME!

 

All parents and guardians of Jones College Prep students are automatically members – no membership fees are required. We encourage all parents to get involved and make a meaningful contribution — of time and/or money — to keep the legacy of Jones going strong.

2018-19 FOJ BOARD MEETING DATES

Meetings are held in the 3rd floor library @ 8AM.
All members of the JCP community are welcome to attend. We’d love to have you there.

September 12, 2019
October 10, 2019
November 7, 2019
December 12, 2019
January 9, 2020

February 6, 2020
March 12, 2020
April 2, 2020
May 7, 2020
June 11, 2020

OUR IMPACT

Friends of Jones raises funds to provide grants to support all aspects of our students’ experience at Jones College Prep. On average, FOJ grants more than $270,000 each year to classrooms, teams, clubs, productions, and development.

Some stand-out examples include…Freshman Connection, Chromebooks for the Computer Science Program, software for language labs, uniforms and transportation for the athletic department, travel expenses for the music department to allow the band to compete at the national level, leadership training for Best Buddies, a special dance master class taught by the Hamilton dance captain, and many more.

Click on the "+" to see FOJ grant recipients from the past two school years. Questions? Please contact Shalimar Beekman@friendsofjones.org.

  • ACES - Phys. Ed. & Art
  • ALAS
  • Acting For Change Club
  • Art Department
  • Asian American Literature
  • Asian Pacific American Heritage
  • Aquarium Club
  • Alumni Committee
  • AP Research/Capstone
  • Aquatics Program
  • Athletic Department
  • Band/Orchestra
  • Baseball Team
  • Best Buddies
  • Black Student Union
  • Blue & White Society
  • Bowling
  • Bridge the Gap
  • Cheerleading
  • Choir
  • Computers/Chromebooks
  • Computer Science Program
  • Counseling Department
  • Cross Country
  • Dance Department
  • Dance Team
  • Debate Club
  • Digital Imaging
  • Diverse Learners/IES
  • Eagle Leaders
  • English Department
  • Greek Club
  • French Department
  • Freshman Connection
  • JCP Staff
  • Journalism Class
  • LaCrosse Team
  • Language Department
  • Library
  • Majorette Team
  • Male Student Empowerment
  • Math Department
  • Mental Health Initiative
  • MIT Launch Club
  • Model UN
  • MTSS Mentor Program
  • Music Department
  • Phys. Ed. Department
  • Physics Department
  • Photography
  • Rainbows For All Children
  • Recycling Club
  • Robotics Team
  • Sailing Club
  • Scholastic Bowl
  • Science Department
  • Social Science Department
  • Softball Team
  • Spanish Honor Society
  • Special Education
  • Spectrum
  • Teacher/Staff Appreciation
  • Teacher Wishes
  • TEDx@JCP
  • Test Prep
  • Tri-M Music Honors Society
  • Theatre
  • Water Polo Team
  • World Studies
  • Yearbook

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Friends of Jones Board of Directors hold one year terms – July 1 – June 30 of each year.

Meetings occur at least once each month, and Friends of Jones members (parents and/or guardians of enrolled students) are welcome to attend the meetings.

Nominations for the Board are solicited between March and May of each year. If you’re interested in serving, please send a note to the Vice Chair, who is the chair of the Nominating Committee.

Click To View Board Members

CHAIR
LAURA BRAUER
Laura.Brauer@friendsofjones.org

VICE CHAIR
JACKIE KING PAPADOPOULOS
Jackie.Papadopoulos@friendsofjones.org

SECRETARY
BONNIE SCHULGASSER
Bonnie.Schulgasser@friendsofjones.org

ASST. SECRETARY
JENNI PENCYLA
Jenni.Pencyla@friendsofjones.org

TREASURER
VICKI CROCKETT
Vicki.Crockett@friendsofjones.org

ASST TREASURER
MONICA KUZMA
Monica.Kuzma@friendsofjones.org

5K EAGLE RUN
ANDY NEWMARK
Andy.Newmark@friendsofjones.org

ACADEMIC & ARTS BOOSTER
SHALIMAR BEEKMAN
Shalimar.Beekman@friendsofjones.org

ALUMNI RELATIONS
KK CLELAND
KK.Cleland@friendsofjones.org

ALUMNI RELATIONS
MANNY ONATE, JR
Manny.Onate@friendsofjones.org

ANNUAL FUND
AMY FANALE
Amy.Fanale@friendsofjones.org

BANNERS
GREG VITI
Greg.Viti@friendsofjones.org

BUDDY GUY
ONNA JONES
Onna.Jones@friendsofjones.org

BUDDY GUY
KAREN RANQUIST
Karen.Ranquist@friendsofjones.org

COMMUNICATIONS
JENNI PENCYLA
Jenni.Pencyla@friendsofjones.org

CORPORATE DEVELOPMENT
GREG VITI
Greg.Viti@friendsofjones.org

COUNSELOR BOOSTER
MICHELLE CHARLES
Michelle.Charles@friendsofjones.org

HOSPITALITY
ANNE COON
anne.coon@friendsofjones.org

HOSPITALITY ASST.
AGNES HONG
Agnes.Hong@friendsofjones.org

JONESWEAR
MARY CATHERINE MARCO
Mary.Marco@friendsofjones.org

JONESWEAR
NIKI PIETROSKI
Niki.Pietroski@friendsofjones.org

KASEY'S TAVERN
KAREN RANQUIST
Karen.Ranquist@friendsofjones.org

LIBRARY VOLUNTEERS
IAN MORRIS
Ian.Morris@friendsofjones.org

NEWSLETTER
KAREN ANDERSON
Karen.Anderson@friendsofjones.org

ONLINE AUCTION
RITA PARIDA
Rita.Parida@friendsofjones.org

ONLINE AUCTION
TRACY PORTNOY
Tracy.Portnoy@friendsofjones.org

PIZZA SHOWDOWN
GREG VITI
Greg.Viti@friendsofjones.org

SOCIAL MEDIA
SHALIMAR BEEKMAN
Shalimar.Beekman@friendsofjones.org

SPORTS BOOSTER
REAVA KING
Reava.King@friendsofjones.org

SPRING GALA
TBD

VOLUNTEERS/OPEN HOUSE
ANGELA ALONZO
Angela.Alonzo@friendsofjones.org

VOLUNTEERS
LISA TOERNE
Lisa.Toerne@friendsofjones.org

FOJ Newsletter

Friends of Jones publishes an email newsletter every other week covering school and parent community news. Parents with an FOJ Login account automatically receive the newsletter sent to their provided e-mail.

Click on the links below to read newsletters sent out during the 2018-19 school year: