ABOUT

Friends of Jones is a membership organization of school parents, family, and friends who support education and community building at Jones College Prep. The Friends of Jones Board of Directors is responsible for raising funds, organizing events, coordinating volunteers, establishing our alumni network and so much more, all to ensure the future of JCP as the premier college preparatory school in the city and the state.

EVERYONE'S WELCOME!

 

All parents and guardians of Jones College Prep students are automatically members of Friends of Jones – no membership fees are required. We encourage all parents to get involved and make a meaningful contribution — of time and/or money — to keep the legacy of Jones going strong.

2020-21 FOJ BOARD MEETING DATES

Meetings are held in the 3rd floor library @ 8AM.
All members of the JCP community are welcome to attend. We’d love to have you there.

September 17, 2020
October 8, 2020
November 12, 2020
December 10, 2020
January 14, 2021

February 11, 2021
March 11, 2021
April 8, 2021
May 13, 2021
June 10, 2021

OUR IMPACT

Friends of Jones raises funds to provide grants to support all aspects of our students’ experience at Jones College Prep. On average, FOJ grants more than $270,000 each year to classrooms, teams, clubs, productions, and development.

Some stand-out examples include…Freshman Connection, Chromebooks for the Computer Science Program, software for language labs, uniforms and transportation for the athletic department, travel expenses for the music department to allow the band to compete at the national level, leadership training for Best Buddies, a special dance master class taught by the Hamilton dance captain, and many more.

  • ACES - Phys. Ed. & Art
  • ALAS
  • Acting For Change Club
  • Art Department
  • Asian American Literature
  • Asian Pacific American Heritage
  • Aquarium Club
  • Alumni Committee
  • AP Research/Capstone
  • Aquatics Program
  • Athletic Department
  • Band/Orchestra
  • Baseball Team
  • Best Buddies
  • Black Student Union
  • Blue & White Society
  • Bowling
  • Bridge the Gap
  • Cheerleading
  • Choir
  • Computers/Chromebooks
  • Computer Science Program
  • Counseling Department
  • Cross Country
  • Dance Department
  • Dance Team
  • Debate Club
  • Digital Imaging
  • Diverse Learners/IES
  • Eagle Leaders
  • English Department
  • Greek Club
  • French Department
  • Freshman Connection
  • JCP Staff
  • Journalism Class
  • LaCrosse Team
  • Language Department
  • Library
  • Majorette Team
  • Male Student Empowerment
  • Math Department
  • Mental Health Initiative
  • MIT Launch Club
  • Model UN
  • MTSS Mentor Program
  • Music Department
  • Phys. Ed. Department
  • Physics Department
  • Photography
  • Rainbows For All Children
  • Recycling Club
  • Robotics Team
  • Sailing Club
  • Scholastic Bowl
  • Science Department
  • Social Science Department
  • Softball Team
  • Spanish Honor Society
  • Special Education
  • Spectrum
  • Teacher/Staff Appreciation
  • Teacher Wishes
  • TEDx@JCP
  • Test Prep
  • Tri-M Music Honors Society
  • Theatre
  • Water Polo Team
  • World Studies
  • Yearbook

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Friends of Jones Board of Directors hold one year terms – July 1 – June 30 of each year.

Meetings occur at least once each month, and Friends of Jones members (parents and/or guardians of enrolled students) are welcome to attend the meetings.

Nominations for the Board are solicited between March and May of each year. If you’re interested in serving, please send a note to the Vice Chair, who is the chair of the Nominating Committee.

CHAIR
JACKIE PAPADOPOULOS
Jackie.Papadopoulos@friendsofjones.org

VICE CHAIR
MICHELLE KERR
Michelle.Kerr@friendsofjones.org

SECRETARY
VICKI CROCKETT
Vicki.Crockett@friendsofjones.org

TREASURER
MONICA KUZMA
Monica.Kuzma@friendsofjones.org

5K EAGLE RUN
TBD
@friendsofjones.org

ALUMNI RELATIONS CO-CHAIR
KK CLELAND
KK.Cleland@friendsofjones.org

ALUMNI RELATIONS CO-CHAIR
MANNY ONATE, JR
Manny.Onate@friendsofjones.org

ANNUAL FUND CHAIR
JENNIFER MILLER
Jennifer.Miller@friendsofjones.org

ANNUAL FUND CO-CHAIR
TBD
@friendsofjones.org

BUDDY GUY CHAIR
MARY CATHERINE MARCO
Mary.Marco@friendsofjones.org

COMMUNICATIONS/ASST. SECRETARY
JENNI PENCYLA
Jenni.Pencyla@friendsofjones.org

CORPORATE BANNER CHAIR
LAURA BRAUER
Laura.Brauer@friendsofjones.org

CORPORATE BANNER ASST. CHAIR
AMY FANALE
Amy.Fanale@friendsofjones.org

COUNSELOR BOOSTER CHAIR
MICHELLE CHARLES
Michelle.Charles@friendsofjones.org

GRANT COORDINATOR CHAIR
SHALIMAR BEEKMAN
Shalimar.Beekman@friendsofjones.org

HOSPITALITY CHAIR
AGNES HONG
Agnes.Hong@friendsofjones.org

HOSPITALITY ASST. CHAIR
ANNE COON
anne.coon@friendsofjones.org

JONESWEAR CHAIR
NIKI JUNGWIRTH
Niki.Jungwirth@friendsofjones.org

JONESWEAR  ASST. CHAIR
TBD
@friendsofjones.org

KASEY'S TAVERN
BETH HOPSON
Beth.Hopson@friendsofjones.org

LIBRARY VOLUNTEERS CHAIR
LATRICE MCARTHUR
Latrice.McArthur@friendsofjones.org

ONLINE AUCTION CO-CHAIR
TRACY PORTNOY
Tracy.Portnoy@friendsofjones.org

ONLINE AUCTION CO-CHAIR
RITA PARIDA
Rita.Parida@friendsofjones.org

NEWSLETTER
KAREN ANDERSON
Karen.Anderson@friendsofjones.org

SOCIAL MEDIA CHAIR
JULIE TALLARIDA
Julie.Tallarida@friendsofjones.org

SPORTS FUNDRAISING CO-CHAIR
REAVA KING
Reava.King@friendsofjones.org

SPORTS FUNDRAISING CO-CHAIR
SHERYL NECHELES
Sheryl.Necheles@friendsofjones.org

SPRING BENEFIT CO- CHAIR
ONNA JONES
Onna.Jones@friendsofjones.org

SPRING BENEFIT CO- CHAIR
DEBORAH SCHWAN
Deborah.Schwan@friendsofjones.org

SPRING BENEFIT CO- CHAIR
LISA HASSLER THOMAS
Lisa.Hassler-Thomas@friendsofjones.org

VOLUNTEERS/OPEN HOUSE CO-CHAIR
ABBY ADASIAK
Abby.Adasiak@friendsofjones.org

VOLUNTEERS/OPEN HOUSE CO-CHAIR
LISA TOERNE
Lisa.Toerne@friendsofjones.org

FOJ Newsletter

Friends of Jones publishes an email newsletter every other week covering school and parent community news. Parents with an FOJ Login account automatically receive the newsletter sent to their provided e-mail.

Click on the links below to read newsletters sent out during the 2019-20 school year: